After months of judging and the highest number of entries in its 11 year history, the winners of the Tes School Awards have been revealed!

The most outstanding individuals and institutions that the education sector has to offer gathered together for a celebration at the Grosvenor House Hotel on Park Lane, London on Friday (21st June).

Schools and individuals from across the UK were recognised for incredible contribution to education.

Tes Editor, Ann Mroz said: “We had a record number of entries this year and the standard was incredibly high so all our winners should be extremely proud of their achievement.  The quality of entries was superb, and as always, our illustrious panel of judges deliberated long and hard to reach its final selections. 

“We’ve had the privilege of hearing about so many creative and inspiring initiatives that are improving outcomes and life chances of young people.  The spirit of great teaching really was at the heart of each and every entry and it’s been wonderful to see such amazing ideas and excellent practice emerging from our schools, especially considering the difficult circumstances that many schools operate under.”

The Tes awards have been running since 2009 and recognises the outstanding individuals and institutions that the education sector has to offer.  They were judged by a collection of the UK’s most illustrious education experts. 

Comedian, Harry Hill, who presented the awards said: “I felt quite emotional tonight giving out these awards – thanks so much for inviting me. What a night!”

The list of winners were:

  • Services to education award: Baroness Warnock
  • Lifetime achievement award: Teresa Roche, Derbyshire
  • Overall school of the year: Meadow View Farm School, Leicestershire
  • Primary school of the year: Grendon Church of England Primary School, Northampton
  • Secondary school of the year: Cathedral Academy, Wakefield
  • Alternative provision school of the year: Meadow View Farm School, Leicestershire
  • Early years setting of the year: Little Forest Folk Wimbledon, Wimbledon
  • Headteacher of the year: Naveed Idrees, Bradford
  • Healthy school of the year: Fairfield Primary School, Cumbria
  • Creative school of the year: Admiral Lord Nelson School, Portsmouth
  • Sustainable schools award: St Colm’s High School, Londonderry
  • International award: The Observatory School, Liverpool
  • New teacher of the year: Abed Ahmed, Birmingham
  • Classroom support assistant of the year: Aimee Durning, Cambridge
  • English teacher or team of the year: Joseph Cash Primary School, Coventry
  • Maths teacher or team of the year: The Totteridge Academy, North London
  • School business manager of the year: Mark Reed, Lancashire
  • Science, technology and engineering teacher or team of the year: Tapton School Academy Trust and Fields of Learning, Sheffield
  • Innovative use of technology to influence outcomes award: Oxfordshire Hospital School, Oxford
  • Community and collaboration award: Bradford Academy, Bradford