Ten education professionals from across Wales win at the Professional Teaching Awards Cymru 2019

Ten inspirational teachers and education professionals have been revealed as winners at the third Professional Teaching Awards Cymru.
29 finalists from all four corners of Wales, were invited to celebrate excellence in education in a special ceremony held at Soughton Hall, Mold. Welsh comedian Tudur Owen and Minister for Education, Kirsty Williams revealed the winners of the ten categories.
Rhian Morgan Ellis from Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhondda took home the award for Headteacher of the Year. Nominated for her long-lasting and wide-reaching impact on the whole school community, she impressed the judges with her commitment and dedication to improving the educational opportunities for her pupils.
Rhian said, “It’s an honour to accept this award and it’s great to receive this recognition from the Welsh Government. It’s a pleasure to accept this award on behalf of the team at Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhondda.”
Gruff Arfon from Ysgol Tryfan, Bangor, was awarded Outstanding New Teacher. Nominated for his innovation and inclusive approach to teaching, he inspires all pupils across the school. The judges were impressed with Gruff’s innate calmness, and the way he puts pupils at the forefront of everything he does.
Gruff said, “I wasn’t expecting the award. It’s nice to get recognition for all the hard work with so many other teachers from across Wales. Everyone is working towards the same goal; to improve education for children.”

o Outstanding New Teacher – Gruff Arfon, Ysgol Tryfan, Bangor
o Youth Work in Schools – Amy Bolderson, Pontypridd High School, Pontypridd
o Supporting Teachers and Learners – Emma Gray, Bassaleg School, Newport
o Best Use of Digital Learning – Phil Meredith, Caerleon Comprehensive, Caerleon
o School Business Manager / Bursar – Gwyn Jones, Ysgol Eirias, Conwy
o Inspirational Use of the Welsh Language – Mark Morgan, Pen Y Dre High School, Merthyr Tydfil
o Teacher of the Year – Allison Pope, Cwm Primary School, Ebbw Vale
o Promoting Collaboration to Improve Learning Opportunities – Gemma Carr Evans, Bridgend College, Bridgend
o Promoting Wellbeing, Inclusion and Relations with the Community – Cadoxton Primary School, Barry
o Headteacher of the Year – Rhian Morgan Ellis, Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhondda, Porth

The Minister for Education, Kirsty Williams, said: “A huge congratulations to all ten of this year’s Professional Teaching Awards Cymru winners. The calibre of nominees was so high that all of those who made it to the ceremony today deserve a massive round of applause for all their hard work and dedication.

“The awards are a testament to the winners’ outstanding commitment to our education system in Wales. When we launched the awards three years ago it was because we wanted to celebrate the professionals dedicated to teaching our children day in and day out, and making our schools great places to learn.

“Every year we have the opportunity to celebrate different aspects of teaching. This year we introduced the first Youth Work in Schools award, which recognises those who provide outstanding youth work and have an exceptional impact on the lives of young people in their school.

“Our support workers, teachers and education professionals are integral to our education system and continue to put young people at the forefront of everything they do.”

The awards ceremony will be available to watch on Facebook @EducationWales from 6pm on Sunday 19 May.
All ten winners were presented with bespoke, hand-crafted Griffiths Jones trophies.
To view the full list of finalists and winners, visit: Join the conversation with #TeachingAwardsCymru and keep an eye on the Education Wales social channels @WG_Education/@EducationWales.

For more information, please contact:
Cowshed / 02920 789321